BOOK DEDICATIONS.

Posted: September 22, 2014 in Uncategorized

This post is for those moments when you want to dig into a book without reading the book dedication or acknowledgement and you find them epicly written and you promise yourself you’ll read the next book from page to page-literally. These here are some of the book dedications that easily make my favourites. I have certainly not read all these books, some yes, but I got others off google.
So anyway,  the list.

image

Tobias Wolf “This Boy’s Life”
My first stepfather used to say that what I didn’t know would fill a book.  Well here it is.

Garrison

Keillor,

Good Poems”
To all the English teachers, especially  the great ones.

Charles Bukowski, “Pulp”
Dedicared to bad writing.

Charles Bukowski, “Post Office”
This is presented as a work of fiction and dedicated to nobody.

Joseph J. Rotman, “An introduction to Algebraic Topology”
To my wife Marganit,
And my children Ella Rose and Daniel Adam
Without whom this book would have
Been completed two years earlier.

Lemony Snicket, “A Series of Unfortunate Events” Books 1-13
Lemony Snicket writes to Beatrice, a woman he loved and was engaged to until she broke off the engagement and died soon after.
To Beatrice-
Darling, dearest, dead. (The Bad Beginning)

For Beatrice
My love for you shall live forever.
You however did not. (The Reptile Room)

For Beatrice
I would much prefer it if you were alive and well. (The Wide Window)

To Beatrice
My love flew like a butterfly
Until death swooped down like a bat
As the poet Emma Montana said,
“That’s the end of that” (The Miserable Mill)

For Beatrice
You will always be in my heart,
In my mind,
And in your grave (The Austere Academy)

For Beatrice
When we met my life began
Soon afterwards yours ended (The Ersatz Elevator)

For Beatrice
When we were together I felt breathless
Now you are (The Vile Village)

For Beatrice
Summer without you is as cold as winter
Winter without you is even colder

For Beatrice
Our love broke my heart
And stopped yours (The Carnivorous Carnival)

For Beatrice
When we first met, you were pretty and I was lonely
Now I’m pretty lonely (The Slippery Slope)

For Beatrice
Dead  women tell no tales
Sad men write them down(The Grim Grotto)

For Beatrice
No one could extinguish my love  or your house (The Penultimate Peril)

For Beatrice
I cherished,  you perished
The world’s been nightmarished.

Sean Carroll,”The Particle at the End of the Universe”
To mom,
Who took me to the library.

Robb Hobb, “Ship of Magic”
To caffeine and sugar, my companions through many a long night of writing”

Jack Kerouac, ” Visions of Cody”
Dedicated to America, whatever that is.

image

Leave a Reply

