Yawning through Sense and Sensibility

Posted: November 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

hey, Jane Austen’s great.

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

I think I’ve passed the age at which I can enjoy Jane Austen.  I finished reading Sense and Sensibility (1811) and number 54 on the BBC book list, but I didn’t really care to.  I felt bored and yawned through it.  A lot.

The plot doesn’t have much action.  In fact, there’s hardly any action.  It is about the sisters of a family who are trying to find husbands.  Hmmmm.  That sounds an awful like the rest of Austen’s books.

(Today, I don’t have my own photo of the book cover, but I found several lovely covers online and I’ll paste them throughout.  I love seeing different renderings.)

sense-sensibility-jane-austen-paperback-cover-art

What the book did offer, for me, was an exploration of the difficulties in being a woman during that time.  The book begins with a discussion of the Dashwood sisters as children from their father’s second marriage, and that he had…

View original post 332 more words

Leave a Reply

